Freezers last updated: November 2016


Freezers are divided into four sub-categories by construction: 

  • Chest
  • Built-under (suitable for installation under work surfaces)
  • Upright (freestanding)
  • Upright (Integrated)

In order to be featured on Topten, freezers must comply with Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) No 1060/2010 with regard to energy labelling of household refrigerating appliances, and meet the following criteria: 

  • Have an Energy Efficiency Index rating of 22 ≤ EEI < 33 (corresponding to  the A++ label class)  

Ecodesign minimum rating 

The current minimum energy rating of a freezer that can be placed on the market is the A+ class. 

Best available technology

The most efficient freezers currently on the market achieve the A+++ class. 

Inefficient model selection

The average performing model represents the following: 

  • A model taken from the lowest Energy Class allowed on the market, currently A+ for cold appliances.  


Annual energy consumption: energy consumption per year in kWh, based on manufacturers’ declarations of standard test results for 24 hours.

Construction: free-standing or built-in (integrated).

Dimensions: the unpacked dimensions of the product in mm.

Energy Efficiency Index: the basis for the determination of the energy efficiency class: the lower the value, the more efficient the freezer.

Energy label: the energy efficiency class according to the EU energy label. The classes range from A+++ (most efficient) to D (least efficient). New appliances below an A+ rating are not allowed to enter the market under the terms of the Eco-Design Requirements for Energy-related Products (ErP) Directive.

Noise level:  the noise emissions of the product in operation, in dB.

Power in use: the rated power of the product in use, in W.